Member News

John J. McPhilemy, DO, FAOAO Receives
AOAO’s Highest Award For 2015

By Steven B. Shamash, DO, FAOAO & Michael A. Miranda, DO

Dr McPhilemyIn 1991, the Donald Siehl Appreciative Award was established, with Dr. Siehl being the first recipient. This award is presented to a member of the AOAO who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has made a major contribution and commitment to the American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics during his/her professional career. The Donald Siehl appreciative award is the highest award granted by the Academy.

This year, members of the PCOM Orthopedic Surgery Residency Alumni nominated their Chairman, Dr. John “Jack” McPhilemy, to receive this award.  The AOAO Board of Directors has recently announced that Dr. McPhilemy will be this year’s award recipient.

Dr. McPhilemy has been actively involved in the AOAO and osteopathic orthopedic surgery residency training since 1992.  He has served as AOAO president from 1998-99 and AOAO Board of Directors from 1993-2000. He has completed numerous publications, countless lecturing engagements and received multiple awards throughout his tremendous career.

Dr. McPhilemy is a Philadelphia native and the current chairman of the prestigious PCOM orthopedic surgery residency program.  He has served as chairman at PCOM for the past 22 years.  Throughout his career, Dr. McPhilemy has mentored and inspired over 100 orthopedic residents who have gone on to contribute to the field of orthopedics both with academic research and AOAO involvement.  He is always willing to sit down and mentor a medical student, intern, resident or alumni. He is extremely well respected. Dr. McPhilemy also served as head team physician for the Philadelphia 76ers for over 20 years.

His 30 years of dedication and devotion to orthopedics and the AOAO makes him an outstanding and deserving candidate for this highest honor presented by the AOAO. Dr. McPhilemy will be honored at the 2015 AOAO Annual Meeting on Thursday, October 15 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, CO.