executive director's message

Notes about the AOA Annual Meeting

Dr. Vander LugtBy Lee Vander Lugt, DO, FAOAO

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) held its Annual Business meeting in Chicago, July 14 – 19, 2015.

James S. Mason, DO, American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics (AOAO) President represented the Academy at the Board of Trustees portion of the meeting.
George Zimmerman, DO, Vice President of the AOAO, was our chosen Delegate at the House of Delegates meeting.

During both the Board of Trustees and the House of Delegates sessions multiple reports were received from the various affiliates of the AOA ( state societies, specialty affiliates and non-practice affiliates) bringing all those in attendance up to date with the multiple activities of the AOA. 

The resolutions acted upon by the Board of Trustees can be seen online. The profession was brought up to date on the Single Accreditation System for Graduate Medical Education.  As of this writing, only four Review Committees have chosen not to accept Osteopathic Certification for residency program directors.  Four DOs have been seated on the ACGME Board and Lorenzo Pence, DO, has been hired as the Senior Vice President for Osteopathic Program Accreditation.  The Osteopathic Principles and Practice Committee have had basic standards approved for Osteopathic distinct programs.  The Osteopathic Certification Boards have been deemed equivalent to ABMS board scores when determining board pass rates for program accreditation.
One of our own, Peter Ajluni, DO, was honored to deliver the A. T. Still Memorial Lecture.  Dr. Ajluni said “Now more than ever before, we must seek out opportunities to champion our distinctness.” View his video presentation.

John Becher, DO was sworn in as the new AOA President.  Boyd Buser, DO, was elected Vice President of the AOA for the coming year. 

More information about the 2015 Annual Meeting may be found on the AOAO’s website.

Back to top