cme updates

2015 Annual Meeting Preview


The Broadmoor

AOAO returns to The Broadmoor!  Plan to attend the Academy’s last conference of this AOA CME cycle.  This year’s scientific lectures will include many case presentations and discussions, with opportunities for you to share and learn about cases relevant to your specialty. Sessions were carefully and thoughtfully planned by each moderator. Their time and effort in developing this conference are greatly appreciated by the AOAO Board of Directors and CME Committee.

Session Moderators
Anand Panchal, DO – Shoulder & Elbow Session
Fred McAlpin, III, DO, FAOAO – Residents and Fellows Session
Richard L. Crank, Jr., DO – General Session
Brian J. Keyes, DO – Adult Reconstructive & Arthritis Surgery Session
Adam J. Dann, DO – Hand Session
Robert S. Marsh, DO – Foot and Ankle Session
Julieanne P. Sees, DO – Pediatrics Session
Ryan M. Geringer, DO – Sports Session
Michael P. Leslie, DO – Trauma Session
John P. Malloy, IV, DO – Spine Session

Milestones Workshop
Program Directors and faculty, don’t miss this opportunity to participate in the Milestones Workshop, Thursday, October 15 from 8:00am to 12:00pm. Special guest speakers Pamela L. Derstine, PhD, MHPE, Executive Director, RC(s) for Colon & Rectal Surgery, Neurological Surgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, and Otolaryngology with the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and Laura Edgar, EdD, CAE, Executive Director for Review Committees for Medical Genetics, Pathology, and Radiation Oncology,  and Milestones Development with the ACGME will provide insight on developing milestones and the ACGME Review Committee Structure. Franklin Medio, PhD,  President of Consulting Services for the Health Professions  and former Associate Dean and DIO for GME at the Medical University of South Carolina will then provide strategies for successful implementation of milestones.

Broadmoor at night

If you missed the CO*RE REMS Course held during the 2013 Annual Meeting, it will be offered again on Thursday, October 15 from 9:00am-11:00am (no charge, pre-registration required). A Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategy (REMS) is a risk management program required by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to ensure that the benefits of a drug outweigh its risks. The FDA has determined that a single, shared REMS is required for all brand and generic ER/LA opioid pain medicines. The FDA has mandated a REMS to include accredited professional education. This course is for all osteopathic physicians who prescribe opioids. For more information about what you will learn, go to and click on Sessions and Lectures, and View Objectives. The Course will be led by Mark Bailey, DO, PhD, past president of the Alabama Osteopathic Medical Association who currently serves on the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Education, the Council of Continuing Education, and is a member of the NBOME faculty.

Resident Research
Support residents as they present their research during the Residents and Fellows Session on Thursday, October 15 from 12noon to 4:00pm. For a complete list of this year’s Scientific Paper Winners, go to

Awards Ceremony
This year’s Awards Ceremony will be held on Thursday, October 15 at 4:30pm. A cocktail reception will follow to honor all award recipients.   

2015 Award Recipients - New Fellows and Their Sponsors
Thomas D. Beck, DO; sponsored by John A. Avallone, DO, FAOAO
Douglas P. Dietzel, DO; sponsored by Christopher B. Najarian, DO, FAOAO
E. William Kennen, Jr., DO; sponsored by Joel L. Rush, DO, FAOAO
David C. Koronkiewicz, DO; sponsored by John J. McPhilemy, DO, FAOAO
Paul J. Lapoint, DO; sponsored by John J. McPhilemy, DO, FAOAO
David H. MacDonald, DO; sponsored by Lee Vander Lugt, DO, FAOAO
Richard M. Miller, DO; sponsored by Carl Wooldridge, DO FAOAO
John A. Pasquella, DO; sponsored by John J. McPhilemy, DO, FAOAO
Keith R. Pitchford, DO; sponsored by James R. Ingram, DO, FAOAO
Joseph Rosenblatt, DO; sponsored by John J. McPhilemy, DO, FAOAO
Alan H. Snider, DO; sponsored by Robert W. Nebergall, DO, FAOAO

Appreciative Award
Richard F. Howard DO, FAOAO

Bob Green Award
Matthew W. Bullock DO
Ryan M. Kenny DO

Donald Siehl Appreciative Award
John J. McPhilemy DO, FAOAO

Morton J. Morris, D.O., J.D. Award for Osteopathic Orthopedic Education
Michael J. Fugle DO, FAOAO

Alison LevineKeynote Address – Friday, October 16, 2015 at 11:30 am
Don’t miss this year’s Keynote Address from Alison Levine, Team Captain of the First American Women's Everest Expedition and Author of the New York Times Best-Seller On the Edge: The Art of High-Impact Leadership. Participants and guests are invited to hear Ms. Levine inspire and motivate.



New This Year

Digital Posters
Widescreen monitors will be available in the Exhibit Hall for conference participants to view digital posters. Participants will also be able to submit comments and questions to authors through the Poster Discussion Board.  The index of posters will be searchable by poster title, author and key words.  Opt in to follow the discussion and you will be notified whenever a comment is posted.

Exhibitor Reception
Spend Friday evening immediately following the lectures with Exhibitors for happy hour before heading out to dinner. Sample local brews while enjoying a conversation with your favorite industry representative.

Back to top