Section News

Sports Medicine Update

It is a great honor to serve as President of the AOAO Sports Medicine Section. During his term as President, Dr. Shariff K. Bishai provided leadership as our section navigated the difficult process of obtaining a Certificate of Added Qualification. Although not fully completed, we are confident that the Sports Medicine CAQ will soon become reality, further adding to the quality of care to our patients.

On behalf of the entire Sports Medicine Section, I would like to thank and congratulate Dr. Shariff K. Bishai and Dr. Christopher Dougherty. They, along with Gary Ulrich DO, Jeff Mair, DO, Anthony McPherron, DO, Peter Blank, DO, Jim Lebolt, DO, Andrew Schorfhaar, DO, Robert Armstrong, DO, and others, have worked many hours toward this worthy objective. Please refer to the September Issue of The Orthopod for Dr. Dougherty's update on this process.

A special thanks also to Amanda Martin, DO for her moderation of the Sports Medicine Session during the upcoming 55th Postgraduate Seminar at the Omni Amelia Island in April. I would encourage all those coming to attend the Sports Session on Friday morning, April 17. She has compiled an excellent assembly of timely, pertinent topics provided by exceptional speakers.

The 2014-2015 Sports Section Officers are:

  • 1st Vice-President
    Jesse L. Pace, DO
  • 2nd Vice-President
    Matthew P. Melander, DO
  • 3rd Vice-President
    James A. Thiel, DO
  • Secretary-Treasurer
    Peter B. Blank, DO

    I welcome them all, and look forward to their enthusiasm as we move our section ahead into the future. With the assistance of these able Physicians, I hope to grow our section membership, complete the CAQ, continue to provide and assist with our annual meetings, and of course help educate up and coming new Orthopedic Surgeons in Sports Medicine. Please feel free to contact any of us if we may be of service.

I hope to see you all in Amelia Island,

Phillip D. Surface, DO
President, Sports Medicine Section, AOAO

Trauma Section Update

As outlined in the AOAO Bylaws, a section is composed of members of the Academy having a common professional purpose in furthering a specialty interest and knowledge of Orthopedic Surgery. Current section specialties include Hand, Foot and Ankle, Adult Reconstruction, Pediatrics, Sports Medicine, Spine, General, and most recently the Shoulder and Elbow and Trauma sections were added. 

Although our Annual Meeting and Postgraduate Seminars have included a Trauma Session for several years, it wasn't until two years ago that an official Trauma Section was established.  The paperwork was submitted to the Board, approved, and the first Trauma Section Meeting was held at the 2013 Annual Meeting in San Diego.  Officers were elected and the section bylaws ratified. 

We are now in our second year.  I would like to encourage anyone interested in orthopedic trauma surgery, to join the AOAO Trauma Section.  We now have a Trauma Listserv, which allows us to communicate, discuss surgical options, and generally network.  We are also discussing the possibility of developing a future online CME module, more details will be forthcoming as this project evolves.  We have discussed trying to get a fireside chat started at each meeting to discuss difficult and challenging cases.  Once we have enough interest and members, I will be sharing this information through email and the listserv.  Please help us continue the effort by joining the AOAO Trauma Section.

I look forward to seeing you at our Postgraduate Seminar in Amelia Island. Section officer elections are scheduled for the 2015 Annual Meeting this October at The Broadmoor, Colorado Springs, Colorado so consider becoming actively involved. 

Steven D. Morton, DO, FAOAO
Trauma Section President

Back to top